Menai High School

Care and commitment

Telephone(02) 9543 7000

Technological and applied studies

Technological and applied studies (TAS) is mandatory for all students in Year 7 and 8. Students can also select from a range of elective TAS subjects.

In TAS, students use a range of tools, materials and techniques in the design process and technological experiences through theory and practical lessons. As well as the mandatory study of technology, students can select from a range of elective TAS subjects.

The continuum of technology learning is:

  • based on students becoming increasingly sophisticated in their ability to design and produce solutions for authentic needs and opportunities
  • an option for student specialisation in high school through a range of syllabuses addressing particular technologies and aspects of design.

Available courses include:

  • Agricultural Technology 7-10
  • Design and Technology 7-10
  • Food Technology 7-10
  • Graphics Technology 7-10
  • Industrial Technology 7-10
  • Information and Software Technology 7-10
  • Textiles Technology 7-10
  • Agriculture Stage 6
  • Design and Technology Stage 6
  • Engineering Studies Stage 6
  • Food Technology Stage 6
  • Industrial Technology Stage 6
  • Information Processes and Technology Stage 6
  • Software Design and Development Stage 6
  • Textiles and Design Stage 6.

Computing studies 

Computing studies subjects allow students to develop the skills necessary to communicate effectively in a highly technological society. 

Our subjects 

  • Year 7 and 8 - information communication technology
  • Year 9 and 10 - information software technology 
  • Year 11 and 12 - information process and technology, software design and development and information technology (vet).

Technological and applied studies 

Students of subjects within this faculty develop skills which promote creativity in the design of technological processes. Many of our subjects have a vocational basis and students learn valuable workplace skills.

Our subjects

  • Year 7 and 8 - technology
  • Year 9 and 10- timber technology, metal technology, electronics technology, graphics technology, textiles technology, food technology
  • Year 11 and 12 - industrial technology timber, industrial technology auto, design and technology, vet construction, community and family studies, food technology, textiles technology, VET hospitality and exploring early childhood.

VET hospitality students prepare another delicacy.

F1 challenge team 2008 - national champions.